Thursday, September 22, 2016

Let's Talk

Hey guys.

So we haven't done one of these posts in a very very long time. So, I thought we were overdue.

So lets chat! (Excuse my rambling LOL)

Is it just me or when everyone is hyped up about a book, and you go into it just knowing you are in for a ride only to be let down? Now I know that not every book is for everyone, but when this happens I can't help but think something is seriously wrong with me.

Surely a book that all of my book friends and favorite blogs are raving about, and that hit the best-sellers list should be nothing shorter than amazing right? Right?

While the 5 star glowing reviews are rolling in, I am over here just thinking how much my sad little 3, 2, 1 star review is going to look in the sea of 5 star reviews.

Tough right? Like why bother to review. LOL. But nah, thats not me. I give honest reviews. And who knows, maybe someone will stumble upon my sad star review and actually reads the book because what I don't like, they do.

And thats what makes me write my review even though everyone else liked the book.

Its a hard pill to swallow,but I take it.

So tell me, do you guys feel the same way when you come across those books you didn't really care for, but everyone around you loved?

Leave us a comment. Lets discuss. 😊

Tuesday, September 20, 2016

Release Blitz : Fractured Beat by R.B.Hilliard


Title: Fractured Beat
Series: The Meltdown Series #1
Author: RB Hilliard
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: September 20, 2016





When Grant Hardy, Meltdown’s lead singer, falls off the stage in the middle of a concert while under the influence, his record label has no choice but to step in and take control. The solution is simple. Send Grant to rehab and avoid a public relations nightmare by covering it up as a bad case of the flu.
When the rehab facility’s recommendation for extended treatment starts to affect the label’s bottom line, they are forced to find an alternative solution – hire an in-house counselor for the duration of the tour.
There’s just one problem.
Grant Hardy isn’t an addict.





TO JOIN THE RELEASE PARTY ON SEPTEMBER 22ND






RB Hilliard lives in Charlotte, North Carolina with her husband and two children. Her love of the written word led her to pursue a degree in English and later a career as an academic language therapist. In 2012 she took a break from teaching and began writing her first novel, His End Game. Hilliard has published five books in her MMG Series, as well as Utterly Forgettable, a romantic comedy and Fractured Beat, the first in her Meltdown Series.
HOSTED BY:

Cover Reveal : Hat Trick by Kristen Hope Mazzola


hattrick-coverrevealbanner

Check out this incredible, hot & sexy cover of Hat Trick by Kristen Hope Mazzola, featuring model Lance Jones!

hattrick-ebook
PREORDER NOW

Amazon US | Amazon UK

Blurb:
One accident - a freaking car crash. That’s all it took to send my brother’s and my life into a tailspin with no end in sight. I was going to be something. I was going to be the best. I had the Olympics in my sights. And it all went to shit in one flash. Brayden wasn’t ready to raise a younger sister when I was thrown into his lap. He had his life and everything going for him. Thankfully, he was still drafted to his dream hockey team. The same one dad played for when we were growing up. It took time, but I started to get better, started to open up, started skating and even dating again. I even thought I found the perfect guy for me. Isn’t it funny how guys hit on you when they know you’re not available, but when you’re single they won’t give you the freaking time of day? I guess the game is more fun that way. And for the captain of my brother’s team, that’s exactly what I was. A hat trick is three goals in hockey. Some say three is a crowd and they might be right. I was Gavin Hayes' unobtainable goal. 
 *A No Cheating Standalone*

hattrick-signup

AND! Surprise Release! Lust & Love by Kristen Hope Mazzola is NOW LIVE and only 99c! FOUR standalone novellas AND it includes a sneak peek of Hat Trick!

loveandlust-99c-promo2

BUY NOW: ONLY 99c!

Amazon US | Amazon UK

Good-looking model in american football uniform

About the Author:
I am just an average twenty-something following my dreams. I have a full time "day job" and by night I am an author. I guess you could say that writing is like my super power (I always wanted one of those). I am the lover of wine, sushi, football and the ocean; that is when I am not wrapped up in the literary world.
Please feel free to contact me to chat about my writing, books you think I'd like or just to shoot the, well you know.
A portion of all my royalties are donated to The Marcie Mazzola Foundation.

Author Links:

Monday, September 19, 2016

Release Blitz : Black Sheep by Tabatha Vargo


BLACK SHEEP IS LIVE!!



Ever since the day I was dropped at her family’s door
HUNGRY, DIRTY, and TORN,
I’ve wanted her.
But to taint her perfect skin with my black touch would be a SIN.
So I made a pact with myself—
NEVER TOUCH NICOLE PALMER.
However, when she returns home from college, she’s different, and I’m not sure I can trust myself to keep my pact. I can’t submit to her TEMPTATION no matter how sweetly she begs because she’s the GOLDEN CHILD and I’m the BLACK SHEEP.

GET YOUR COPY OF BLACK SHEEP TODAY!

Amazon US
Amazon UK
iTunes
Kobo
BN: Coming soon!



Tabatha is hosting a Facebook party with a group of some of your favorite authors.
Join the party HERE.

FOR MORE GIVEAWAY OPPORTUNITES/STALK TABATHA VARGO


EXCERPT

HEAVEN AND HELL.
I’d crossed the holy pinnacle and entered a place full of softness, light, and beauty, but while her hands on my skin felt like a miracle, I also felt like my flesh was being ripped from my body. Irrational fear struck me deep.
Nicole would never hurt me—at least not physically. Mentally, she’d fucked me up over the last seven years, but she didn’t know she was doing it.
Still, her mouth was heaven, and the devil didn’t belong in Heaven—I didn’t belong in Paradise. I knew that, but my brain ceased all functions the minute my lips touched hers. I was beyond all rational thinking.
My lips brushed against hers.
Once.
Twice.
Before I moved in for more, losing myself in her so completely, I forgot about her hands on me. I forgot she was touching my scars inside and out—soothing them and breaking them open again all at the same time. Her lips made me forget all the promises I’d made to myself over the years—made me forget about the pact I’d made with myself.
Never touch Nicole Palmer.
Each strike of her hot breath against my cheek was like an electric shock to my body, and I couldn’t hold myself back any longer. Her frame felt even smaller than it looked in my grasp when I wrapped my arms around her and pulled her to me. She was soft against my hardness, limp in my arms as she let go with me.
I’d never felt anything like it. Usually, I pinned a girl’s arms above her head to keep her from touching me. Typically, I took control and remained in power, but when my tongue met hers, everything inside me exploded.
Her soft, cautious touch changed, and she clawed at me like a wildcat, tugging at my shirt and pulling me to her as if she couldn’t get close enough.
She couldn’t.
She’d never be close enough.
And while her sudden movements and touches were freaking me out, I wanted more.
I wanted to feel her all around me—beneath me—inside me, lighting all the dark places where I hid my feelings for her—all the dark places where the memories and monsters lived.
Her fingers no longer scared me … they fueled me, forcing my black memories to the forefront and allowing her to slowly destroy each one. She took away the pain and cleared my mind in the strangest, most shocking way.
She tasted like sugar, like melted candy on my tongue as I savored her. My craving for her, the one I’d tamed over the years, grew, as I pulled her to me and thrust my hips. Seeking relief, I rubbed against her, her body feeling better than anything I’d ever felt … even with our clothes between us.
I wanted her.
Hell, I’d always wanted her.
Over the years, in my mind, every girl I’d climbed inside had been Nicole.
My Nicole.
The only girl to ever tame me, and she was clueless about it.
She was leaving me, and I wasn’t taking it well. I hadn’t been okay with the situation since the day she got her acceptance letter to Juilliard. She was a beautiful dancer, one with grace and limbs that went for days, but knowing she was going to New York alone left a sick feeling in my gut.
I couldn’t be there for her. I couldn’t protect her from the sick and demented fucks in the world. I’d go wild thinking about the terrible things that could happen to her while she was hundreds of miles away from me. And while I knew how badly she wanted Juilliard, I also knew how badly I wanted her. How badly the desire to keep her safe burned through me on a daily basis.
She reached between us, palming me through my jeans. Stopping my thoughts completely, her touch caused me to release an agonizing growl into her mouth. I’d had women … too many, actually, but none of them had ever touched me this way. Their fingers had never graced my dick, no matter how badly I wanted it. My mind would never allow it.
It was different with Nicole.
It had always been different with her.
My fingers covered hers, pressing her palm harder against me as I thrust myself into her hand, seeking what I knew I could never have with her. Every second I touched her, I darkened her with my shadowed sin.
Clarity broke through my lust and slammed into me. Tension crawled down my back, tightening my spine and making my entire body stiffen.
It was wrong.
Everything we were doing was wrong.
Her mother and father had taken me in, made me a part of their perfect family, and given me a life I would’ve never gotten without them. If it weren’t for them, I would’ve grown up on the streets, begging for food with only the clothes on my back, and this was how I was repaying them.
By touching their only daughter.
By tainting her with my blackness.
The broken sickness I was born with could be contagious, and the last thing I ever wanted to do was pass it to her—contaminate her perfection. If I ever climbed inside her, she’d never be the same. Her light … I’d extinguish it, bringing her into my darkness. That was the last thing I wanted since Nicole’s light had always been a beacon for me, leading me to do the right thing when the right thing was the last thing I wanted to do.
Bad decisions were in my blood—passed down from a father who ruined me—and touching Nicole was the worst decision I’d ever made. The addiction was instant, and I knew one day I’d overdose on her. Just like my father and his heroin except with more pleasure and more pain.
I pulled back, my body and heart feeling her loss the second I pushed her away.
“Fuck!” I cursed, as I gasped and rubbed roughly at my lips, trying to rid myself of her taste.
I’d never be able to walk away with her flavor on my lips. My craving would never let it happen.
She moved toward me, and I held my hand out to keep her away. I was too weak for her. I’d always been too weak for her.
Her big blue eyes stared up at me, full of trust and lust. Her white blond hair spilled from her bun, curtaining her beautiful face and skimming her flawless skin. She was everything, and I was nothing. The two could never mix.
Rage and disgust slammed into me.
How could I touch her?
How could I taint her perfection with my sin?
“That shouldn’t have happened,” I breathed, trying to catch the air she’d stolen away from me.
“Why not?” she asked, her cheeks flushed and her lips reddened from my rough kisses.
I hated myself for marring her delicate flesh with my touch. She was too good, too perfect for anyone, especially me.
“Because I don’t want you that way!” I yelled, not thinking of who else could hear our conversation.
It was the biggest fucking lie I’d ever told...



Book Review And Excerpt : Cirque by Ashleigh Giannoccaro


CIRQUE by Ashleigh Giannoccaro
A boy looked in a window, to see a naughty show
Through the pane of pain, the master clown did blow
The circus is a holy tent, the keeper of my rhyme
Where I forged my chains, creating this pantomime
Pretending to be normal, I wait until after dark
Then I paint the frown on, get a whore from the park
At the bottom of that bed was a darling in a chest
She watched with big eyes, horror hooking her from rest
She dances for the maniac, twirling on her strings
I will make her mine, sharing damaged things
I will be her riddle, she will help me grin
So why does she run away, she has to let me in
No one loves the clown, not even the midget
We’ve gone too far, she will know my secret
Love can break the hardest mask, I know this to be true
Nightmares have hearts too, I only needed you



— PURCHASE 

REVIEW

What an awesome read from one of my favorite authors in the genre of dark books!When I came to know that Ashleigh Gionnaccaro was writing a book with clowns, I was super excited and couldn't wait to get my hands on it!I have nothing against clowns, but I am pretty sure many of you hate them or are terrified by the sight of them.Please don't let that turn you away from the book!Trust me, you'll end up loving this book inspite of hating the clowns!

We have the main characters, Sivan-who owns a construction company and Imogene-a friend and coworker of Sam, Sivan's sister.There is also Gavin-Sivan's best friend , who was in love with Sam and has problems of his own.Each character is hiding their own set of secrets.You can't figure out their motivations or end game after one glance.You won't be able to figure them out even by the end of the book!

Sivan seems like a normal guy at first glance.But he has a clown within him, a clown that has been itching to get out and one that controls his desires.Finding someone to be with him is quite difficult, as in the end "Noone loves the clown".His search for the perfect person has been fruitless till he meets Imogene.There is just something about her that calls to him.

One might think Imogene is innocent and naive when they first meet her.But appearances can be deceiving.She is also keeping lots of secrets from her nighttime rituals to her pet peeves.Though, she wants a relationship with Sivan, the secrets they are keeping from each other might very well end up tearing them apart.
There is also Sam, Sivan's sister who is used to being rescued by him.She will go to any lengths to get the attention she wants and she doesn't like being snubbed by Imogene or Sivan.

I loved the feel of the writing in this book.Each character was wonderfully crafted by the author and as I went deeper into the book, the further invested I became!Loved how the story flowed seamlessly!Cirque Act I has perfectly introduced us to the characters an setting.It ends in a small cliffy and we are left eagerly waiting for the Act II!Can't wait to see where the author takes the story and I'll be excitedly counting down the days till Act II comes out!


PLAYLIST


— EXCERPT 

“That man has secrets buried so deep they might never see the light of day. I saw him at dinner, the way those eyes were down and his mind seemed to be a million miles away. I don’t know why but I feel this bad idea coming on, this idea that I want to know what he hides away from the world, that golden boy smile and rugby player body are too good to be true.

There is always a reason that a man like him has no woman, or wedding ring. There is a dark, dirty skeleton hanging in his wardrobe, and I want to pull it out and see how it looks in daylight.

We all have skeletons, I like to slow dance with mine, but most people hide them away so no one ever sees them. Well I want to be his no one, I want to climb inside those thoughts and pull him apart. He might be Samantha’s brother, but the minute I laid eyes on Sivan I felt a deep pull inside me, that same feeling I get when I swing from the trapeze and let go, the free falling grab that gravity has on your belly making the possible fall so much more real. Then you grab on and catch yourself.

Falling is dangerous. Any sort of falling is going to get you hurt. Don’t fall.

Sam has lived in the flat opposite me for four years now, we are friends, some days a little more than friends. She has this self destructive nature where she puts herself in harm’s way on purpose. Daring bad things to happen to her, asking for trouble to come and destroy her fragile little heart, then waiting for someone to save her. Usually it’s Sivan or her mother, and for a while even me, until I learned a little about how she worked. Sam takes no responsibility for herself, the stripping is a prime example of her self loathing.

She doesn’t need to do it, but she needs to fall so someone can save her when she does. The thing is, one day no one will be there and she is going to hit the ground hard, she will shatter and break, and once you’re broken you can’t be saved – only mended.

A sick part of me wants to be the one who breaks her, watching her thud down without her safety net beneath her. I am jealous because I don’t have a net. I only have me.

When I saw her brother watching the Cirque performance I had an evil thought, a little idea of just how to remove her net. It would be easy you see, because he was watching me. When Sam arrived at work that night in tears because her brother saw her at work with all his rugby mates, I pushed her away. I told her she was an attention whore and if he was upset she deserved it, imagine how embarrassed he is, all the blokes saw you naked. I helped her fall with my harsh words.

“Sam, you act like whore. That’s what you are going to be treated as. Your brother just saw your true colours and they are fucking ugly.” The tears welled in her eyes through the whole performance, but I didn’t see them at all.

No, because I saw him watching me again. I perform just for him. I am not connected to her tonight and it shows, we are slightly off and I know we will get it at practice tomorrow.

I did nothing to adjust. I just watched him as he watched me.

Secrets.

He left before we came out of backstage, and I was disappointed. The drive home in his car was quiet as Sam silently fumed at me, I could still smell him in the car. A distinct smell of clean cologne and man — probably sweaty rugby togs somewhere. I let the smell and the image of his hooded eyes watching me take me away from the anger and shame swallowing up the air in the car, as Sam gets angrier and angrier.”


— ABOUT THE AUTHOR 
Amazon best selling author Ashleigh Giannoccaro lives In Jozi AKA Johannesburg South Africa with her high school sweetheart also known as her husband and two young daughters. She loves sunshine and psychopaths, her blood type is coffee and she has a pet Meerkat called Porky. She is a full time mom and author, and while she looks like the soccer mom on the surface her books are another story. 

As a youngster Ashleigh grew up devouring thrillers and crime fiction, favouring Jeffrey Deaver all the while reading Sweet Valley High to fit in with her friends. When thrillers didn't give her the love and the romance novels didn’t pack the punch she needed Ashleigh discovered the small genre of Dark Romance and her heart was happy. Here’s where the lines of right snd wrong get blurry and the bad guy gets the girl, Ashleigh found the perfect balance of what she looked for in a book. When the time came to write her own stories she knew exactly what they would be, dark and twisted with just enough love. Colour My Ugly was published in October 2014 and since then it’s been a whirlwind of words and adventure that included a trip to the Books Are Bigger In Texas signing in April 2016 and six novels beings let out into the universe to challenge readers and hopefully leave a lasting mark. 

Her Colour Series novels are dark romance set within the lives of three crime families. She loves to make you fall in love with the villain, because after all they need love too. Three full length novels span three generations and challenge ideas such as nature vs. nurture. Sometimes Ashleigh conducts psychiatric experiments in between the pages, like that one time she let two sociopaths fall in love. To her the bad guy doesn't need to be redeemed to get the happy ending. 

The best selling Red Market Series followed when she teamed up with Mary E. Palmerin to see just how dark a love story could be. The series pushed limits that had never before been pushed and quickly become know as the darkest of the dark reads. The two book series was given best seller status by Amazon, even after ashleigh and Mary both believed it would be banned on release day. She still asks herself “who does that?” about this series quite regularly. 

Now writing solo again Ashleigh has turned a poll she took about her readers biggest fears and turned it into a pyscho-erotic thriller about a clown. Cirque will make you forget how much you fear them and hopefully make you fall in love with the painted faces. A dark magical look inside the broken minds of two characters with the circus in their blood, Cirque is something completely different and new for Ashleigh. 

When she’s not dreaming up crazy stories or creating villains for you to love, Ashleigh spends her time reading and supporting the Indie author community. Ashleigh has a passion for words and is constantly seeking new ones to read and write.


— CONNECT WITH THE AUTHOR 

Friday, September 16, 2016

Sale Blitz : Red by Kate SeRine



First in the Transplanted Tales series only .99 Cents


RED
Transplanted Tales #1
Kate SeRine
Released Aug 2nd, 2012
Kensington



"My name is Tess Little. But everyone calls me Red."

Once upon a time, a spell went awry, stranding Make Believe characters in the ordinary world. Since then, Tess "Red" Little--a/k/a Little Red Riding Hood--has worked as an Enforcer for the Chicago branch of the Fairytale Management Authority. But, consider yourself warned--she's not just some waif with a basket of goodies. All grown up and with nothing to lose, a gun and combat boots is more her style. And Red's new assignment threatens to be short on happily ever afters. . .

Someone is murdering transplanted Tales in gruesome fashion. The list of fictional characters capable of such grisly acts is short and includes more than one of Red's old flames. And if that wasn't bad enough, there's another complication, in the form of sexy, enigmatic Nate Grimm, the FMA's lead detective and part-time Reaper. Used to following her own rules and living life on the edge, Red has managed to avoid taking on a partner until now. But Nate's dark side makes him perfect for a case like this. That is, if she can trust him. Because if there's one thing Red knows for sure, it's that believing in the wrong person can have big, bad consequences. . .


$0.99 CENTS
Amazon | B&N | iBooks | Kobo


ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Kate SeRine (pronounced “serene”) is a hopeless romantic who firmly believes in true love that lasts forever. So it's no surprise that when she began writing her own stories, Kate vowed her characters would always have a happily ever after.

Kate lives in a smallish, quintessentially Midwestern town with her husband and two sons, who share her love of storytelling. She never tires of creating new worlds to share and is even now working on her next project—probably while consuming way too much coffee.

Kate is also the author of the award-winning Transplanted Tales paranormal romance series and the Protect & Serve romantic suspense series.

Connect with Kate at www.kateserine.com, Facebook.com/kateserine, or on Twitter @KateSeRine.


Excerpt and Giveaway : A Night Without Stars by Jillian Eaton




A Night Without Stars
Genre: YA Paranormal


Summary from Goodreads:



You might know vampires...but you don't know Lola. 



Sixteen-year-old Lola Sanchez is no hero. Snarky, rebellious, and completely fed up with her life, she has one goal: graduate high school and get the hell out of her small hometown. Until a night of terror and bloodshed changes everything...forever. 



Now the only thing Lola wants to do is survive. But how can she survive when everything she knows has been destroyed and the one person she thought she could trust ends up being the most dangerous person of all?




Please Note: 'A Night Without Stars' was previously published as a novella entitled 'Pitch' in 2012. It is now a full length novel. All reviews prior to 01/21/14 are for 'Pitch'.


Buy Links:

Excerpt

“You never told me your name, you know.” I tried to sound flippant, but even to my own ears there was a hoarseness in my voice that betrayed how perilously close I was to tears. I swallowed the hard lump in my throat. Crawling around searching for cameras like a deranged lunatic was one thing. Crying was another.
The boy folded his long, lanky body in half until we were at the same level and I had no choice but to stare straight into his eyes. It was like gazing across a stormy sea. You could see the crests of the waves as they broke out of the water, but the real turmoil was beneath the frothing surf, hidden from view. “Maximus.” His head canted to the side. “My name is Maximus.”
“Maximus, huh?” I tried to smile but the skin on my face wouldn’t stretch. Everything felt tight, from my forehead all the way down to my toes. The feeling reminded me of a few weeks ago when I’d tried on a pair jeans that were one size too small. By some miracle I managed to get them buttoned, only to spend the next ten minutes trying to peel myself out of them. Needless to say, I didn’t go home with a new pair of jeans.
That’s how I felt now. Like somehow I’d slipped into a body that was one size too small and my skin had to stretch to fit over it.
It wasn’t a pleasant sensation.
“I’m Lola.” I didn’t offer my last name, and Maximus didn’t ask for it.
“Sorrows,” he said instead.
I blinked at him in confusion, certain I’d misheard. “What?”
“That’s what the name Lola means. Sorrows.” Those stormy gray eyes studied me intently. “Are you sad, Lola?”
It was difficult not to squirm beneath the intensity of his pensive stare. Most kids in the twelve to nineteen age bracket were too busy looking at their cell phones to engage in eye contact that lasted more than a few seconds. Either Maximus didn’t have a cell phone or he just really, really liked making other people feel uncomfortable.
“I’m not sad,” I scoffed. Except I was. I’d just become an expert at hiding it. I wore my sarcasm like a shield, using it to protect the soft, vulnerable side I didn’t want anyone to see. A soft, vulnerable side that had no place in a world filled with drunken fathers and bloodthirsty monsters.


About the Author

I guess this is where I get to tell you all about myself! So here goes. My name is Jillian Eaton, I'm 29, a Leo, huge animal lover, Supernatural fan (Go Team Dean!), and coffee addict. I grew up in Maine and now live in Pennsylvania in a one hundred year old house I bought with my boyfriend a little over a year ago. Together we have three dogs, two horses, and a very fun, crazy, chaotic life. 

For as long as I can remember I have loved to read, and as soon as I figured out how to hold a pencil that love of reading turned into a love of writing. I self-published my first historical romance in 2012. Since then I have published thirteen novellas and six novels. While I primarily write historical romance, I've enjoyed dabbling in paranormal young-adult and contemporary women's fiction. 

In addition to writing, I teach two riding classes at Delaware Valley University (my alma mater) and train horses at a small private farm that I used to manage before I left to become a full-time writer!

When I'm not working, you'll most likely find me taking my dogs for a walk, fussing over my goofy thoroughbred, looking up house projects on pinterest, binging on Netflix, gardening, or attempting to cook (attempting being the key word).  
Author Links:
 photo iconwebsite-32x32_zpsxu00rcxl.png  photo icongoodreads32_zpsagjcxxa1.png  photo icontwitter-32x32_zpsys9vmakl.png  photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps515gyzbq.png

GIVEAWAY:

a Rafflecopter giveaway