Wednesday, January 10, 2018

Book Review


Title: Claiming His Secret Heir
Series: The McNeill Magnates #5
Author: Joanne Rock
Publisher: Harlequin Desire
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: January 1, 2018

BLURB

Can he win back his wife?

When Caroline McNeill shows up outside her husband’s mansion, she claims to have no memory of the past year…or their passion-filled honeymoon. But faking amnesia is the only way Caroline can find out if Damon was behind her abduction. She needs to trust him—a man she craves but still barely knows—before she can tell him about their infant son. Did the Silicon Valley mogul merely marry to claim an inheritance then dispose of her? Or is what they share real and forever?

My Review
Wonderful story but had me wondering why this is a Desire book and not an Intrigue like it should have been.  It wasn't hard to figured out the who and why of the kidnapping. Not only did this story have a mystery it had a hot romance. The story flowed perfectly.  It definitely had the HEA I was hoping for. I recommend reading this book.




PURCHASE LINKS



EXCERPTS

“A marriage certificate?” Squinting at the washed-out ink, the gardener scratched the spot under the man-bun, shifting the dark hair side-to-side. “For Mr. McNeill?”
“I’m Caroline Degraff.” She pointed to the name on the second line, trying to recapture the sense of shock she’d felt when her sister first showed her the paper.
She hadn’t recalled the marriage for weeks after her father rescued her, yet he’d never mentioned it until she confronted him. He’d tried to keep her isolated from her family so she wouldn’t learn the truth. Her mother was dead, her younger brothers at boarding school, and her sister had been at university in the States. What else had he kept from her about her marriage? About Damon? Her therapist had gently suggested that Caroline had been subjected to gaslighting.
The gardener’s gaze flicked up from the paper. “You’re Mr. McNeill’s wife?”
Her throat went dry. She remembered enough about Damon to know he might never forgive her for this deception she had planned. But if he’d been the one tricking her into romance in the first place, what would it matter?
She was going to fake amnesia to find out what he had to say about her disappearance. She had to know for sure if her father had been lying to her about her husband.
“I’m honestly not sure.” She allowed all the doubts and fears of the last months to come through in her voice. That much was not an act. “We’ll have to ask him because…” She bit her lip and blinked back the swell of emotion before she spilled out a lie that was crucial to getting the answers she needed for her child. “I don’t remember.”



AUTHOR BIO

Four-time RITA nominee Joanne Rock has never met a romance sub-genre she didn't like. The author of over eighty books enjoys writing a wide range of stories, most recently focusing on sexy contemporaries and small town family sagas. An optimist by nature and perpetual seeker of silver linings, Joanne finds romance fits her life outlook perfectly--love is worth fighting for. A frequent speaker at regional and national writing conferences she enjoys giving back to the writing community that nurtured and inspired her early career. She has a Masters degree in Literature from the University of Louisville but credits her fiction writing skills to her intensive study with friend and fellow author Catherine Mann. When she's not writing, Joanne enjoys travel, especially to see her favorite sports teams play with her former sports editor husband and three athletic-minded sons.


AUTHOR LINKS

Facebook: http://facebook.com/JoanneRockAuthor


GIVEAWAY

There is a giveaway for the first two McNeill Magnates books by Joanne Rock, plus journal, calendar notes, and Younique Lip Bon Bons (US only) AND digital copies of the first three McNeill stories-- The Magnate’s Mail-Order Bride, The Magnate’s Marriage Merger and His Accidental Heir (Open internationally) (2 winners total)

Rafflecopter Embed Code:

<a class="rcptr" href="http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/06bb59278/" rel="nofollow" data-raflid="06bb59278" data-theme="classic" data-template="" id="rcwidget_vd8zfufw">a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>
<script src="https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js"></script>

Direct Link:

Wednesday, December 20, 2017

Book Review : Veins Of Magic by Emma Hamm


Veins of Magic
Series : The Otherworld #2
Author : Emma Hamm
Publication Date : December 19th, 2017
Genres : Fantasy, Romance


Buy Links

Review

I love fairytale retellings!I've almost read all of the ones available so when I came across a new Beauty and the Beast retelling in Heart Of The Fae, I knew I had to have it, especially since it was written by Emma Hamm!I've loved her writing from the time I read The Goblin Bride two years back.And this series was just another unique treat!
Veins of Magic picks up where we left of in Heart Of The Fae,with Eamonn going off to fight his brother and Sorcha trying to find a cure to the beetle plague.The previous book focused on the journey of the characters while they meet each other,the development of their relationships and the setting up of a world which was uniquely beautiful and amazing.In this book the characters start off with quests of their own, and their personal development from the protagonists that we saw in book one to the strong characters that we see here was very well done!They are very well fleshed out with a strong supporting cast too!The world building, the descriptions and the history was also mesmerizing.
I was waiting for the moment when Sorcha and Eamonn would meet again and it did not disappoint!I read this book in one complete sitting and the ending had me jumping with joy!
I've fallen in love with this world and this series and I hope there are more books to come! :D

So,what are you waiting for?If you haven't started this series yet, I urge you to give it a try!You will definitely love it!

Find out where it all started in :


Heart Of The Fae


About The Author

I am from a very small rural town in Maine. I grew up amid blueberry fields, a farm full of animals, and surrounded by family. It was one of the best ways for a child to grow up. Horses blew puffs of sweet smelling breath in my hair, goats teased me until I giggled, and someone who loved me was always there to pick me up when I fell. I am truly blessed to have grown up in such a fashion.

The love of creative story telling started when I was very young. I used to “act out” the way a story should have gone and argued with my mother constantly about the endings of movies. I wrote a little bit, and eventually found myself in the online writing community. My love of characters blossomed and grew thanks to the ever vigilant parents who convinced me that imagination was one of the greatest gifts of the human mind. I wrote, I created, I read as many books as I could next to the fireplace.

I am inspired by the works of authors like Clive Barker, Mark Danielewski, Patricia Briggs, Clare B. Dunkle, and so many more. 

Thank you all for your support, love, and kindness.

Wednesday, December 13, 2017

New Release and Review Miss Mechanic by Emma Hart


I absolutely loved reading this book. Dex and Jamie are both stubborn and set in their ways. Their banter and witty comebacks had me laughing so hard. They just love to ruffle each other feathers so to speak.  Once you start reading this book you are not going to want to put it down.




MISS MECHANIC
By Emma Hart
Release Day: Dec 12, 2017



Two mechanics. One rivalry.
She’ll prove she’s as good as she says she is.
He’ll prove her place isn’t under the hood.
It’s over it.

“Don’t let the bastards get you down.”
For twenty-six years, I lived by my daddy’s motto. Which is why “Mechanic Wanted” is all it takes for me to apply for the job at the garage we once owned.
And I meet the biggest bastard of them all.
Dexter Ryne. Hotter than Hell in July and a firm believer that my place is on reception, taking phone calls and looking pretty. Not getting dirty under the hood of a car.
Determined to prove each other wrong, we make a deal.
I have three weeks to prove my worth as a mechanic. If I don’t, I’m on telephone duty.
If I do, he’ll accept defeat and make my job permanent.
Now, all I have to do is fight my attraction to the cocky little… beep.
Problem is, an engine isn’t the only thing he knows how to make purr…

PRE-ORDER →
Amazon US → http://amzn.to/2yFcK5X
Amazon UK → http://amzn.to/2l8Dx7A
Amazon AU → http://amzn.to/2yGjaDN
Amazon CA → http://amzn.to/2zIoYLs
iBooks → http://apple.co/2xBfioK   


ABOUT THE AUTHOR:
By day, New York Times and USA Today bestselling New Adult author Emma Hart dons a cape and calls herself Super Mum to two beautiful little monsters. By night, she drops the cape, pours a glass of whatever she fancies—usually wine—and writes books.
Emma is working on Top Secret projects she will share with her followers and fans at every available opportunity. Naturally, all Top Secret projects involve a dashingly hot guy who likes to forget to wear a shirt, a sprinkling (or several) of hold-onto-your-panties hot scenes, and a whole lotta love.
She likes to be busy—unless busy involves doing the dishes, but that seems to be when all the ideas come to life.

SIGN UP FOR ALL NEW RELEASE INFO!

FACEBOOK / TWITTER / GOODREADS / AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE



EXCERPT

“Can I help you?” I asked.  
He blinked and met my eyes.
“What the hell are you doing over there?” I pushed to stand up straight.
“Right now?” He capped his water bottle. “Well, honestly… I’m just thinking you’d look better over the hood of that car than under it.”
I unhooked the hood and slammed it down, spinning on the balls of my feet. 
Our eyes met properly. I didn’t like what I saw in his—desire, attraction, need. Which was obviously why a shiver ran down my spine.
I cocked a hip, putting my hand on it. “The only time you will ever get me over a hood of a car is if a wiper blade needs changing. So, unless you’re a wiper blade...”
Dex pulled his phone from his pocket and started tapping the screen.
I blinked. “What are you doing?”
He peered up at me through his unfairly thick eyelashes. “Seeing if I can get a wiper blade costume for Halloween.”
“I don’t even know how to respond to that.”
“You can buy wiper blade glasses.”
“What?”
He raised his eyebrows. “And a lady here on eBay will hand-make any costume. There’s my Halloween sorted.”
I stared at him. “You’re not getting me over anything, Dex. Definitely not a car hood. No matter what you think.”
He clutched his chest dramatically. “You wound me.”
“Unfortunately not fatally,” I muttered.
“You also underestimate me.”
“There’s a lot of that going around in this garage.” I put the bottle of coolant away.
“TouchΓ©.” 
“Thank you.”
“Can I ask you something?”
I sighed and turned to face him again. “What?”
Earnestly, he asked, “Can you stop wearing those tiny shorts? Or yoga pants that make me want to touch your ass every five minutes?”
I looked down at the ripped shorts of my dungarees. “Can you keep your thoughts to yourself? Control yourself, maybe? Not look at me and see someone worth screwing?”

Thursday, December 7, 2017

Book Review And Giveaway: HeartBeat by Belinda Williams





Title: Heartbeat (Hollywood Hearts Book 3) 
Author: Belinda Williams 
Genre: Contemporary Romance/ Romantic Suspense 
Release Date: December 4, 2017 
Cover Designer: BWrite 
Hosted by: Buoni Amici Press, LLC.



GOOD GIRLS DON'T KISS AND TELL. UNLESS THEY'RE CAUGHT IN THE ACT...
Twenty-one-year-old Chloe Kemp knows it’s not easy growing up in the celebrity spotlight. Unlike other child actors, Chloe’s determined to hold onto her squeaky clean reputation. So far that’s been easy because she really is as sweet and innocent as the media portrays.
Until a video of her in bed with the lead singer of a famous rock band is released online. Only nothing happened. Not that anyone will believe her…
Nor will anyone believe she was in bed with the wrong rock star. Chloe’s fallen for drummer, Gabriel da Silva, and she’s heartbroken she’s ruined her chances with him. Or is it possible he’s fallen for Chloe’s sweetness?
When Chloe is sent incriminating images, it becomes apparent someone is following her with the intention of ruining her reputation as well as her relationship with Gabe. If Chloe wants her career to survive, and a shot with Gabe, is it time she grows up and trusts her heart?



Review

This was another great addition to the Hollywood Hearts series!I've loved Chloe since the first installment - Heartthrob and was waiting to see when she would get her book.And it did not disappoint!
Chloe is just this sweet and amazing person, but has a backbone of steel too!
She's always maintained a good reputation and has this girl-next-door image.But all this changes on the day of her 21st birthday bash!She meets the drummer-Gabe, from her favorite band, and is glad to feel the connection with him(one that she hopes he feels too).But due to a turn of events, she gets caught on video with one of the bandmates.And sadly its the lead singer and not Gabe.It's definitely not what it looks like, but her image could take a hit.And she's also worried about what Gabe would think of it.
But he sees the truth and their friendship seems to be going in the right direction when more images and information come to light, making the situation even more serious!
So, not only does she have an over protective mother from whom she wishes to break free slowly and gain independence, she also has a stalker now and a reputation to maintain.What should she do now?

Just like the previous two books this one also had a perfect mix of romance, suspense and humor.The characters were amazing!Though Chloe is young and undeniably sweet, she's not completely naive.She is strong in her own right and has an amazing circle of friends(who I love).It was really great seeing Jake,Ally,Marc and Lena again!Gabriel was also wonderful!He's strong but tender with Chloe and has his own share of secrets too.But they were perfect for each other!I loved watching their relationship develop!

So if you haven't read this series yet, I'd urge you to start it as you'll definitely like it!
And I'm guessing Faith's story is next!She's so feisty and I can't wait to read her story! :D

You can also find my reviews of the previous two books in the series here:
1.Heartthrob
2.Heartbreaker



We lay back and I listened to the water lapping at the hull as we floated along. The yacht tipped as we were pulled down gently into the swell and the motion caused me to slide toward Gabe. As we bobbed up again I realized we were so close that all I had to do was reach out my pinky to stroke the back of his hand. I lay there paralyzed, my heart in my throat, while I willed myself to have the courage to reach out that fraction of an inch to touch him.
Then, in a movement so smooth it felt like it was the most natural thing in the world, Gabe twined his fingers through mine.
“Do you like it out here?” he asked.
I nodded, trying to ignore the way my fingers tingled and my hand throbbed from our contact. “I love the sense of freedom,” I managed.
“Tell me about it. All those hours I clocked up? Coming out here was like therapy when the band made it big.”
The yacht rolled over another large swell and shifted us so we were pressed together.  “You don’t like the fame?” I asked casually, even though my arm against his made it feel like my whole body was on fire.
Gabe put his other hand behind his head and I did my best to avert my eyes when his T-shirt rode up and revealed a tanned, taut strip of his abdomen.
“Do you?”
His question caught me off guard. “Huh?”
His mouth quirked like he knew what I’d been thinking. “Do you like the fame?”
“I wouldn’t say I like it, but I’m used to it. You’re not, are you?”
“A bit more now. At first, being out here on this yacht was the only place I still felt like myself.”
“Gypsy Hour’s popularity happened quickly, didn’t it?”
“Not according to Levi and Johnnie. They were doing gigs and cutting singles for almost seven years before I met them.”
“Hang on. Weren’t you always in the band?”
“Nope. And I thought you were a fan.” He nudged me gently with his shoulder. “Levi approached me one night when I was playing at a gig. Back then I was in a few different bands and played around LA regularly. He told me their drummer had just left. Something about a difference of opinions with Johnnie if you can imagine that.” His wry grin told me he could imagine exactly that. “Anyway, a few months later one of our singles made it big and I was officially in a famous rock band.”
“Wow. I had no idea it was like that for you.”
“Right place, right time.”
“It’s always like that with fame,” I told him. “Too often success comes down to that one lucky moment.”
Gabe propped himself up on his elbow but didn’t let go of my hand. Those beautiful gray eyes regarded me seriously. “You really believe that?”
“Absolutely.”
“But you’ve been working at acting since you were a kid.”
“Yes, I have, and I’ll keep working hard, but the thing I learned early on was luck plays a huge part. Mama’s connections got me started easier than most. It allowed me to pick up a few commercials when I was kid. What people didn’t see were the hundreds of auditions I went to for television pilots that I didn’t get. And the one I did get? I got the part on School Daze because the director had been on the crew for one of the commercials I’d done. Simple as that. I wasn’t necessarily more talented, cuter, or more professional. I was just lucky.”
“That doesn’t bother you?”
“No, why would it?”
“Because don’t you want it to be your hard work that got you there?”
I looked down at our hands and my pale skin against his tanned complexion. We were so different, in more than just our looks. Fame had always been part of my life but it was new to Gabe and I sensed in him an unease that I was only just beginning to understand.
“When Gypsy Hour made it big you didn’t feel like you deserved to be there, did you?” I asked him.
Gabe shrugged and cast his eyes to the horizon. “Maybe.”
“But you had been working hard—in other bands. If you hadn’t, Levi wouldn’t have seen you and approached you.”
He let out a deep sigh. “Yeah, that’s true, I guess.”
I took in his profile. He had a regal quality that I liked. Unlike Johnnie, who was all bravado, Gabe’s confidence was quiet, but maybe a little less self-assured than I had first thought.
“How old are you?” I asked.
My question seemed to break Gabe out of his reverie and he met my eyes. “Twenty-eight. Why?”
“And how long have you been drumming?”
“Since I was eleven.”
“So you’ve been playing drums for . . . ” I did the math in my head. “Seventeen years. I’d say that makes you very experienced.”
“More experienced than you.”

Oh boy. Those few words changed the tone of our easy conversation into something a whole lot less easy, and I swallowed.



 


 

 
Belinda Williams is a marketing communications specialist and copywriter who allowed an addiction to romance to get the better of her. Her other addictions include music and fast cars. Her writing hasn’t paid for a Lamborghini just yet, so she’ll have to settle for her son’s Hot Wheels collection and writing hot male leads with sports cars. Belinda lives in Sydney, Australia.

   





#Free

 
 


Tuesday, October 24, 2017

Monday, October 9, 2017

Tuesday, October 3, 2017

Book Review: Real Dirty Duet by Meghan March


πŸ’™πŸ’›πŸ’™πŸ’›πŸ’™πŸ’›πŸ’™πŸ’›πŸ’™πŸ’›πŸ’™πŸ’™πŸ’›

Monday, October 2, 2017

Saturday, September 30, 2017

Book Review: Stud Finder by Lauren Blakely


Another great one!  πŸ’œ

A Shade Of Vampire: Bella Forest





You're probably thinking to your self that this is just another twilight fan fiction book and your probably sick of reading them right? Well, To be honest when I had first saw this book it took me at least a good year to buy it because of that reason, A Shade of vampire is more than just you're average twilight novel.

It features a legendary vampire named Derek Novak who has been asleep for centuries and finally awakens in the twenty first century where his family greets him and had been awaiting for his wake.

Sophia Clairemont is on vacation with her best friend and his family whom she lives with, she deals with anxiety and Sensory issues and gets captured by Lucas (Derek's brother) and is taken to a place called the Shade.

Honestly, this book is pretty amazing, and its a 50 book series (yes, 50 book Series) and I can't wait to read them all, and I hope you will too.

4 out of 4 stars.